Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

July 13, 2013

Hillsboro wins Music City Classic

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Hillsboro captured the eighth annual Music City Classic on Saturday as part of Vanderbilt's 7-on-7 high school passing camp. The crown was the first for the Burros since 2007 and the third for a Nashville area team since the event started in 2006.

Coached by Craig Clayton, the Burros were one of the more impressive teams during the two-day event as both the offensive and defensive units held strong through three rounds of pool play, earning a No. 5 seed for the tournament.

Hillsboro defeated Independence in the final 21-8 as quarterback Michael Hughes directed the Burros offense on three straight scoring drives to open up the contest. The Burros defense, led by senior corner Logan Burns, created multiple turnovers and denied the Eagles on several other drives.

Hillsboro reached the final after a competitive game against defending champion Kenton of Ohio. Independence reached the final after a runaway win over the weekend's surprise team, Ravenwood.

Independence was equally impressive throughout the two weeks as four-star prospects Rashaan Gaulden and Vic Wharton made plays on both sides of the ball, with Gaulden taking home the MVP Award for the best overall player during the weekend. The safety prospect minimized passing windows for opponents for much of the weekend, and made several big catches as a receiver for the Eagles.

Hughes, a rising junior at Hillsboro, took home the MVP Award for the tournament itself. The 6-foot-1 passer picked apart several opponents throughout the weekend, placing the ball in the right spot for many of his talented receivers including sophomore Jay King.

The Music City event included other standout performers such as Ravenwood's Van Jefferson, Brentwood Academy's C.J. Sanders and Derek Barnett, Rock Bridge (Mo.) receiver Alex Ofodile and Kenton (Ohio) quarterback Grant Sherman.

Music City Classic Champions:

2006. Byrnes High, Duncan, South Carolina
2007. Hillsboro High, Nashville, Tennessee
2008. David Lipscomb, Nashville, Tennessee
2009. Dorman High, Roebuck, South Carolina
2010. Kenton High, Kenton, Ohio
2011. Lake Hamilton High, Pearcy, Arkansas
2012. Kenton High, Kenton, Ohio
2013. Hillsboro High, Nashville, Tennessee

Vanderbilt NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos VandySports.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.