Vanderbilt places three on All-SEC coaches team

Senior Vanderbilt punter Richard Kent joined fellow Commodore standouts Jordan Matthews and Zac Stacy as members of the 2012 All-SEC Coaches Team on Tuesday. Both Matthews and Stacy were named to the Associated Press All-SEC team on Monday.
A standout from Georgia, Kent was named to the second team. He ranked among the league's best punters throughout the season, finishing third with 44.8 yards per attempt. That average also ranked 11th nationally. A former walk-on, Kent was named Co-SEC Specialist of the Week on Oct. 8, for his play at Missouri. Nineteen of his punts pinned opponents inside their 20 yard. Just three of his attempts resulted in touchbacks. He posted 16 punts that went over 50 yards during the season.
Kent is the first Commodore punter to be named to the team since Bill Marinangel in 1996.
Matthews was named to the first team after garnering similar honors on Monday with the AP team. The Alabama native set a new school record in single-season receiving yards with 1,262 yards. The two-year starter also caught 87 passes on the year, ranking second behind Keith Edwards SEC record of 97 receptions in 1983.
His performance was not only instrumental in the Commodores 8-4 season, but it ranks among the best all-time in SEC history. His 1,262 yards rank ninth all-time while his 87 receptions currently ranks eighth. 

Stacy was chosen for the second team following a strong final year for the Commodores. The senior co-captain became the first Vanderbilt player to ever rush for back-to-back 1,000 yard seasons and broke the school's all-time career rushing mark. He finished the regular season with 1,034 rushing yards and nine touchdowns on 182 carries. 

Stacy is only the eighth SEC player to produce back-to-back 1,000 yard seasons in the past decade and he's the 30th league player to ever rush for over 3,000 yards in a career.
Stacy was also named to the coaches team in 2011, making him the first Commodore to be named to both the AP and coaches team in back-to-back seasons since DJ Moore in 2007 and 2008. He's the first Commodore running back to ever turn the feat.
On Monday, cornerback Andre Hal and placekicker Carey Spear joined Matthews and Stacy on the writer's All-SEC team. Offensive lineman Wesley Johnson received honorable mention recognition from the media. ­
2012 All-SEC Football Team
Note: Coaches could not vote for their own players.
First Team
QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB: Mike Gillislee, Florida; Eddie Lacy, Alabama
WR: Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas; Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
TE: Mychal Rivera, Tennessee
OL: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M; Chance Warmack, Alabama; D.J. Fluker, Alabama; Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
Center: Barrett Jones, Alabama
All-Purpose: Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee
Second Team
QB: AJ McCarron, Alabama
RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia; Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
WR: Ryan Swope, Texas A&M; Justin Hunter, Tennessee
TE: Jordan Reed, Florida
OL: Larry Warford, Kentucky; Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State; Chris Burnette, Georgia; Dallas Thomas, Tennessee
Center: T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
All-Purpose: Ace Sanders, South Carolina
First Team
DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina; Sam Montgomery, LSU; Damontre Moore, Texas A&M; Sharrif Floyd, Florida
LB - Jarvis Jones, Georgia; C.J. Mosley, Alabama; Kevin Minter, LSU
DB - Dee Milliner, Alabama; Matt Elam, Florida; Eric Reid, LSU; Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
Second Team
DL - DL - Barkevious Mingo, LSU; Sheldon Richardson, Missouri; John Jenkins, Georgia; Corey Lemonier, Auburn
LB - A.J. Johnson, Tennessee; Jon Bostic, Florida; *Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State; Alec Ogletree, Georgia
DB - D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina; Bacarri Rambo, Georgia; Robert Lester, Alabama; Darius Slay, Mississippi State
First Team
PK - Caleb Sturgis, Florida
P - Kyle Christy, Florida
RS - Ace Sanders, South Carolina
Second Team
PK - Drew Alleman, LSU
P - Dylan Breeding, Arkansas; Richard Kent, Vanderbilt
RS - Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee