football Edit

Rosters set for Black and Gold game

The Vanderbilt football team has released its rosters for Sunday's Black and Gold spring game inside Vanderbilt Stadium. The two teams are expected to compete in a game-like setting for the first time at Vanderbilt since the spring of 2001. It's the first gameday like event for the Commodores under new head coach James Franklin.
Due to lack of numbers, the Commodore offensive linemen will wear white jerseys and play throughout the game for both squads.
New Offensive Coordinator John Donovan will coach the Black Team, which will feature senior quarterback Larry Smith, emerging play-maker Jordan Matthews, All-SEC tight end Brandon Barden and dependable running back Zac Stacy. The team will also feature All-SEC linebacker Chris Marve, emerging corners Trey Wilson and Andre Hal as well as end Johnell Thomas on defense.
Defensive Coordinator Bob Shoop will coach the Gold Team, which will be led by All-SEC corner Casey Hayward, standout safeties Sean Richardson and Kenny Ladler as well as veteran defensive end Tim Fugger and spring standout defensive tackle Colt Nichter. The squad will also feature promising tailback Wesley Tate and young receiver Chris Boyd on offense.
Vanderbilt will welcome a few local celebrities as honorary coaches including long-time television sportscasters Hope Hines and Rudy Kalis as well as Rivals.com radio personality Chris Childers and local disc jockeys Mike "MAC" McIntyre of Classic Hits 97.1 and Kenny Smoov of 92Q.
Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. CST, though festivities will start as early as 3 p.m with live music at Vandyville. There will also be an autograph session with current Commodore players at the stadium concourse starting at 3. Vanderbilt also encourages tailgating to start at any time of the day, with National Commodore Club parking lots (Lots 1, 1A, 2 and 4) opening at 12 p.m., along Natchez Trace and Vanderbilt Place just across the street from the stadium.
The Commodores are expected to hold a Star Walk prior to the game like on Saturday's in the fall and the Spirit of Gold Marching Band is also expected to be in attendance. There will also be half-time festivities featuring a flag football game by Commodore sororities Alpha Omicron Pi, Kappa Alpha Theta, Pi Beta Phi and Chi Omega. A fireworks show will follow the game.
Admission for all events is free. The donation of a children's book to the Books from Birth program is encouraged.
Black Team
#10. Larry Smith (Sr.)
Running Backs
#2. Zac Stacy (Jr.)
#45. Marc Panu (So.)
#3. Akeem Dunham (Jr.)
#4. Udom Umoh (Sr.)
#17. Jonathan Krause (So.)
#43. Jeff Gendelman (So.)
#87. Jordan Matthews (So.)
Tight Ends
#6. Brandon Barden (Sr.)
#86. Austin Monahan (Sr.)
Defensive Tackles
#53. Vince Taylor (RS Fr.)
#84. Rob Lohr (Jr.)
#93. Josh Jelesky (Jr.)
#97. Jared Morse (So.)
Defensive Ends
#92. Kyle Woestmann (RS Fr.)
#98. Johnell Thomas (Jr.)
#13. Chris Marve (Sr.)
#29. Tristan Strong (Jr.)
#34. Andrew East (RS Fr.)
#37. Al Owens (Jr.)
#46. Bobby Jewell (Jr.)
#49. Robby Barbieri (RS Fr.)
Defensive Backs
#8. Trey Wilson (Jr.)
#12. Steven Clarke (So.)
#17. Jarrett Wadler (So.)
#22. Eric Samuels (Jr.)
#23. Andre Hal (So.)
#25. Andre Simmons (So.)
#28. Karl Butler (So.)
Special Teams
#39. Carey Spear (So.)
#94. Richard Kent (Jr.)
Non-participating team members: Jordan Rodgers, John Cole, Thad McHaney
Gold Team
#7. Charlie Goro (So.)
#19. John Townsley (So.)
Running Backs
#20. Micah Powell (Jr.)
#24. Wesley Tate (So.)
#35. Blake Southerland (So.)
#9. Trent Pruitt (RS Fr.)
#80. Chris Boyd (RS Fr.)
#82. Jameson Sackey (Jr.)
#84. Daniel Hagaman (Fr.)
#88. Brady Brown (So.)
Tight End
#38. Fitz Lassing
Defensive Tackles
#54. Taylor Loftley (Jr.)
#58. Colt Nichter (Jr.)
Defensive Ends
#18. Dexter Daniels (Jr.)
#42. Tim Fugger (Sr.)
#90. Walker May (So.)
#96. Thomas Ryan (RS Fr.)
#15. Archibald Barnes (Jr.)
#26. Blake Gowder (RS Fr.)
#36. Chase Garnham (So.)
#47. DeAndre Jones (Jr.)
Defensive Backs
#1. Kenny Ladler (So.)
#16. Eddie Foster (Jr.)
#19. Casey Hayward (Sr.)
#21. Sean Richardson (Sr.)
#26. Reggie Ford (So.)
#27. Jarron Lewis (So.)
#31. Javon Marshall (So.)
#41. Patrick Sutton (So.)
Special Teams
#48. Ryan Fowler (Jr.)
#51. Eric Frieman (So.)
Non-participating team member: Warren Norman, Mason Johnston and T.J. Greenstone
Offensive Linemen (White jerseys)
#50. Mylon Brown (So.)
#52. Andrew Bridges (RS Fr.)
#57. Jabo Burrow (Jr.)
#62. Ryan Seymour (Jr.)
#67. Wesley Johnson (So.)
#72. Kyle Fischer (Sr.)
#73. Chase White (RS Fr.)
#75. Grant Ramsay (RS Fr.)
#78. Caleb Welchans (Jr.)
Not participating: Logan Stewart.